Chart Codes

IU's Chart of Accounts is organized into two kinds of chart codes:

  • Campus-level charts (including University Administration), and
  • Auxiliary charts.

Each campus has a unique chart. In addition, there are subsidiary charts on the Bloomington and Indianapolis charts to separate the activity of some auxiliary units. University Administration, which includes organizations that serve all IU campuses, also has a unique chart.

All charts report up to a top level chart that exists only for reporting purposes.

The hierarchy of the charts is as follows:

  • Indiana University (IU)
    • Bloomington (BL)
      • Bloomington Auxiliaries (BA)
    • East (EA)
    • Fort Wayne (FW)
    • Indianapolis (IN)
      • Indianapolis Auxiliaries (IA)
    • Kokomo (KO)
    • Northwest (NW)
    • South Bend (SB)
    • Southeast (SE)
    • University Administration (UA)

The following is a graphical representation of the chart hierarchy (click the image to enlarge):

graphical representation of the chart code hierarchy

Note: Accounting at IPFW is primarily handled by Purdue; there is little activity on the FW chart.

Specific individuals are responsible for all activity on each chart. These individuals are called Chart Managers. The current chart managers are listed in the following table.

Chart

Chart Manager

Email

 BA  Julie Bauters  jbauters@indiana.edu
 BL  Rozzie Gerstman  gerstma@iu.edu
 EA  Dan Dooley  dadooley@iue.edu
 IA  Camy Broeker  cbroeker@iupui.edu
 IN  Charlie Miller  chmiller@iupui.edu
 IU  Bill Overman  woverman@iu.edu
 KO  Philemon Yebei  pyebei@iuk.edu
 NW  Marianne Milich  mmilich@iun.edu
 SB  Kathleen Pizaña  kpizana@iusb.edu
 SE  Dana Wavle  dwavle@ius.edu
 UA  Joan Hagen  jhagen@iu.edu